Tutor Of The Year

Students on the Health and Social Care programme at North Warwickshire and South Leicestershire College have voted Gillian Spenceley as Tutor of the Year as part of a long-running awards scheme.

The Ian Kemp Tutor of the Year trophy is presented in memory of Ian, a former college youth worker, who sadly died in 2017. Ian first started to organise the awards in 1998. Now in its 21st year, students from across the College are invited to nominate the tutors that have supported them during the previous year and helped them to achieve their qualifications.

An emotional Gillian Spenceley was presented with her trophy by Deputy Principal, Paul Fletton who told an audience of her peers at the College’s Nuneaton campus how much Gillian was valued by her students.

Health and social care student Candice McCulloch said, “Gill is always there for us and supports us if we’re struggling. She is simply a brilliant teacher.” Her fellow student Holly Alcock agreed, saying, “She’s got such a bubbly personality and always cheers us up and spurs us on to work harder.”

Gillian, who has been teaching at the College for nearly 20 years, said, “My students are so fantastic, and I really appreciate the feedback. I am delighted to have been singled out for this award; it makes my job so rewarding.”

Second place in the Tutor of the Year awards was media lecturer Gary Lincoln, while art and design lecturer Emma Carter came third. The prize for the best member of support staff was awarded at the same time, to Hannah Boughtflower, an employability coach. Second place went to personal coach Tammy Cleaver and keyworker Helen Toulouse came third.

Throughout this week, the Teaching Awards Trust is asking people up and down the country to say ‘thank you’ to a teacher who has made a significant difference in their lives. The Thank A Teacher campaign allows members of the public to send teachers a card in the post for free, by completing an online form and including a personal message. It takes two minutes but has a lasting impact on those exceptional teachers who receive them.